IHSA Basketball Legends

During the 2006-07 basketball season the Illinois High School Association, IHSA, announced its list of “100 Legends of the IHSA Boys Basketball Tournament.” Fans selected the first 82 Legends in an online election that ran from November to March, and the remining 18 Legends were selected by a blue ribbon panel.  The Legends were honored during the 2007 IHSA State Boys Basketball Tournament, which was the centennial celebration of America’s Original March Madness.

Listed below are twenty four members of the exclusive club of IHSA Legends who played, coached, or officiated in at least one of the first 75 Pontiac Holiday Tournaments:

Kenny Battle – West Aurora Player – Played for John McDougal’s 2nd place team in 1983; won Aubra Williamson Award in 1983.

Bruce Douglas – Quincy High Player – Played on four championship teams from 1978-1981; won Aubra Williamson Award in 1981.

Walter Downing – Providence New Lenox Catholic Player – Lost in 1980 championship game to Quincy, 47-42, in one of the more memorable championship games in the history of the PHT; co-Aubra Williamson Award winner in 1980 with Michael Payne.

Dwight “Dike” Eddleman – Centralia High Player, Official – Member of three championship teams in 1939, 1940, and 1941; officiated several tournaments in the ’50s and ’60s. (Deceased)

Lowell Hamilton – Chicago St. Mel Player – Started at center for 1984 championship team; member of only team other than Quincy or Manual to win a tournament from 1978 to 1989.

Dawson “Dawdy” Hawkins – Pekin High Coach – Coached Pekin to 2nd place in 1963 tournament against Bloom, then won the championship in 1964, defeating Lockport. (Deceased)

Cal Hubbard – Normal University High Player – Forward on 1966 Normal University High team, but did not play because of a knee injury.

Gordy Kerkman – West Aurora Coach – Coached in the last 36 Holiday Tournaments; led West Aurora to the title in 1990; has also coached the Blackhawks to five 2nd place finishes; fellow Legend John McDougal’s assistant on the 1975 championship team and 1983 2nd place team.

Gay Kinter – Decatur High Coach – Coached Decatur’s team in the PHT in 1926, 1927, 1930, 1932, 1935, and 1938. (Deceased)

Jerry Leggett – Quincy High Coach – Coached Quincy to five consecutive championships from 1978-1982; finished 2nd in 1976; 25-3 record in eight tournament appearances from 1976-1983. (Deceased)

Sergio McClain – Peoria Manual High Player – Won 1995 Aubra Williamson Award; led Manual to titles in 1994 and 1995.

Wayne McClain – Peoria Manual High Coach – Coached Manual to three championships in 1994, 1995, and 1997; compiled a 19-3 record in six tournaments; also had two 2nd place finished in 1999 and 2000 and a 5th place finish in 2001; also an assistant to Dick Van Scyoc during six of Coach Van Scyoc’s championshp teams and two 2nd place teams.

John Mcdougal – West Aurora High Coach – Coached West Aurora to 1975 title and a 2nd place finish in 1972 in six tournament appearances.

Fred Miller – Pekin High Player – Sophomore starting center on Dawdy Hawkin’s 1964 championship squad.

Dale Minick – Decatur High Player – Played in 1935 tournament for Gay Kinter’s Decatur Running Red’s. (Deceased)

Mark Peterman – Springfield High Coach – Coached 1933 Springfield team to tournament consolation title. (Deceased)

Gene Pingatore – Westchester St. Joe Coach – Coached in two tournaments in 2002 and 2003.

Dave Robisch – Springfield High Player – 6′ 11″ center led Senators to 2nd place in 1965 and 3rd in 1966 tournament.

Herb Scheffler – Springfield High Player – Played for Mark Peterman “Springfield Five” in the 1933 tournament that won the consolation title; named as member of second team all tournament that same year. (Deceased)

Dolph Stanley – Mt. Pulaski High Coach – This legend coached Mt. Pulaski to a 1-1 record in the 1935 tournament. (Deceased)

Gary Tidwell – Danville High Assistant Coach – This legend has assisted at Danville High School and is now the head coach of the Vikings for the 2006-2007 season.

Arthur Trout – Centralia High Coach – Included in his 809 career wins were for tournament championships in 1933, 1939, 1940, and 1941; participated in nine holiday tournaments beginning in1933 and compiled a 26-8 record; also finished 2nd in 1936 and 1938. (Deceased)